Analog Anticipation

Anticipating how your photographs will turn out is an experience missing from digital photography. More often than not, that wait-and-see aspect generates a feeling of excitement. And right now, I’m excited about my first roll from the Konica IIIA.

Everything seems to work fine. The film loads easily, shutter trips without sticking, aperture adjusts, transport is smooth. Setting the exposure with either the Light Meter App on the iPhone or the Gossen DigiSix was quite easy. All that remains to be seen is if the exposure and/or shutter timing is correct. And I will know that tomorrow morning.

The DigiSix fits nicely atop the camera seated in the cold shoe. So does a Nikon SB-28X Speedlight, but alas I do not have a PC male to male sync cord. Heck, I don’t even have a strap, which is really making me nervous. So if everything comes out fine, I see some necessaries in my future.

The camera didn’t have strap rings, so I need to order a few spares along with a strap. B+W still makes filters in the required 35.5mm threads, and a short PC sync cord will allow me to shoot in auto flash mode.

But the camera handles fine, and is a pleasure to shoot with.

Leave a comment